Harvard as Preparation for MIT

Source: MIT Admissions blog, Mar 2016

This is an essay by a grad student who found MIT intimidating prior to undergrad but fell in love with it during grad school applications.

High school friends took me around the East Campus dorm (motto: “the weak shall be eaten”). People dyed their hair blue and walked around barefoot. The bathrooms were coed. People painted murals on the walls, built loft structures for their rooms, and engineered homemade fingerprint readers for their locks. “The undergrads here are intense,” a grad student whispered to me as I wandered the halls of the Infinite Corridor. “Come back for grad school.”

Sage advice. Just seventeen and coming straight from a tiny all-girls prep school, I was not ready to commit to this nonconformity. I needed to see more of the rest of the world before I could choose who I wanted to intensely be.

And so I spent the next four years at Harvard.

Leave a Reply

